Recently I sent a link to a customer to purchase a model that I don’t have in my shop yet.
I noticed after they had purchased that the model had disappeared from my uploaded models list.
At first I thought this might be a normal function so it could only be printed once, but I noticed later that the link still works even though the model no longer exists in my account. This means that my design now still exists in some hidden database that I no longer have access to or control over. Is this a bug or is it intentional? Do the links expire after a certain amount of time or do they live forever?
As the copyright owner of the design I should have the right to control the future availability of my designs whether they are shared or not. Removing this control violates my rights as the copyright holder.
If I decide I don’t want an object to be available for printing anymore I should be able to delete that design and any link to that design should no longer function. This is how it works with other print services.